The Word Foundation


Harold W. Percival



Masonic Lodges: Entered Apprentice, Fellow Craft, Master Mason, and Royal Arch degrees, showing the stations or gates of Cancer ( ♋︎ ) the senior warden in the West; Libra ( ♎︎ ) the junior warden in the South; and Capricorn ( ♑︎ ) the master in the East; in each of the degrees. The physical body of man is the ground floor or plan or lodge in which all the degrees are worked, as the body or lodge is prepared for each degree.

The conscious self, as the Doer-in-the-body, is the entered apprentice to be initiated in the first degree. He begins to learn the use of his rule, or line of feeling, from Cancer to Libra ( ♋︎ to ♎︎ ) and his line of desire from Libra to Capricorn ( ♎︎ to ♑︎ ). When he has brought these into right relationship to each other they unite and make the square on which a Mason works, and the oblong square ( ♋︎ to ♎︎ to ♑︎ ) below. The feeling line and desire line make the square of the right-angled triangle (the hypotenuse), the square of all true Masons on which the work of the lodge is conducted.

All degrees are degrees to be taken by the Doer-in-the-body; not by the Thinker and Knower. They await the Doer on his initiation as a Master Mason. The Doer is initiated into the higher degrees to be eventually united with the Thinker and Knower in the Royal Arch. Then they will be complete and perfect. The work of the Doer as entered apprentice is, as he advances by degrees, to rebuild his present physical body into that temple not made with hands, immortal in The Eternal.

This figure shows the Masonic Lodge to be the present physical body. The oblong square is given in detail. The two columns and the three pillars are, by extension, also shown. The Groundfloor is the pelvic section. The Middle Chamber is the abdominal section. The Sanctum Sanctorum is the thoracic section. The Royal Arch is the physical body in its atmospheres, complete. The top of the head represents the keystone.

Refer to symbols, pages 945, 960, 961, in Thinking and Destiny. On page 961, Fig. VI-B shows the front, or nature, column of the perfect body—which is now broken, being absent below the sternum. (This information can now be found in the “Symbols and Illustrations” portion of this book.—Ed.)

The three signs Cancer, Leo, Virgo ( ♋︎ , ♌︎ , ♍︎ ) are the three female signs, from the breasts to the womb; when squared, 3 x 3, they make 9. The male signs are four, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittary, Capricorn ( ♌︎ , ♏︎ , ♐︎ , ♑︎ ), from the coccyx Libra to Capricorn opposite the heart. When squared they equal 16. 9 plus 16 equal 25. The five signs, Aquarius ( ♒︎ ), Pisces ( ♓︎ ), Aries ( ♈︎ ), Taurus ( ♉︎ ), Gemini ( ♊︎ ), are signs representing the hypotenuse, above Cancer ( ♋︎ ) and Capricorn ( ♑︎ ) which when squared equal 25, the square of the circle, thus “squaring the circle.”

H. W. P.
New York City
December 1, 1951

The Oblong Square
♈︎ ♉︎ ♊︎ ♋︎ ♌︎ ♍︎ ♎︎ ♏︎ ♐︎ ♑︎ ♒︎ ♓︎ ♋︎ ♌︎ ♍︎ ♎︎ ♏︎ ♐︎ ♑︎

The lower section is set apart to show the Oblong Square itself. The first three signs, Cancer, Virgo, Leo are feminine and the next four, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittary, Capricorn, are masculine. The sum of the squares of the first three and the next four is equal to the square of the hypotenuse which, itself, is actually equal to five and conforms to the five unmanifested signs representing the Royal Arch. As is readily seen in the plate, the hypotenuse is equal to one side of the square capable of encompassing the circle. It is the total sum of the Mason’s work on the Oblong Square, the trestle-board, his lodge, his body, which squares the circle and enables him to take his rightful place as the Keystone in The Royal Arch in The Realm of Permanence.

The following pages of symbols and illustrations (including Fig. I-E, referred to below) are from the Symbols, Illustrations and Charts section of Thinking and Destiny.—Ed


Fig. I-D

The Physical Plane of the Human Physical World Radiant state of matter Airy state Fluid state Solid state The four substates of the solid state

In the four substates of the solid state are the stars, sun, moon, and the earth, (Fig. I-E).

* * *

All these states are invisible to the human eye, but some of the objects in the four substates of the solid state can be perceived by the human.


Fig. I-E

Solid state of matter Radiant-solid substate Airy-solid substate Fluid-solid substate Solid-solid substate Earth, and the visible part of the physical universe Stars Solar universe Moon

The visible physical universe is of and in the four substances of the solid state of the physical plane of the temporal human physical world, namely: the stars in the radiant-solid, the solar universe in the airy-solid, the moon in the fluid-solid, and the earth in the solid-solid substate of the solid state of matter.

* * *

In the four substates of the solid state is also the fourfold physical human body, (Fig. III), the visible solid-solid body corresponding to the earth.


Fig. VI-A, b


Fig. VI-A, c

Gray matter Central matter White matter

Fig. VI-A, d

7th–cervical–1st vertebrae 12th–dorsal vertabrae–1st 5th–lumbar–1st Sacrum Coccyx Terminal filament
THE SPINAL CORD and its Relation to the Spinal Column

The spinal cord proper reaches from the base of the brain to about the junction of the 12th dorsal and the 1st lumbar vertebrae; its prolongation downward is called the terminal filament, which is anchored below to the coccyx. The spinal cord has a central canal, the prolongation downward of the ventricles of the brain; below, in the embryo, this canal reaches to the end of the terminal filament, but in the adult it usually becomes clogged up within the filament and disappears more or less, in the run of human beings.

The spinal column is divided into five sections: the cervical, dorsal, and lumbar vertebrae, and the sacrum and coccyx. Bony processes and the shape of the vertebrae create openings on both sides through which pass spinal nerves to the neck, trunk, and upper and lower extremities, (Fig. VI-A, b).


This system consists of two main trunks or cords of ganglia (nerve centers), extending from the base of the brain to the coccyx, and situated partly on the right and left sides and partly in front of the spinal column; and, further, of three great nerve plexuses and many smaller ganglia in the body cavities; and of numerous nerve fibers extending from these structures. The two cords converge above in a small ganglion in the brain, and below in the coccygeal ganglion in front of the coccyx.

Fig. VI-B

Spinal column Vagus nerve Solar plexus

Fig. VI-C

In Fig. VI-B, to the left of the spinal column, is indicated one of the two cords of the involuntary nervous system. From it are seen to extend widespread ramifications of nerve fibers, which form the plexuses that are spread like spider webs over the digestive and the other organs in the body cavities; in the solar plexus they are joined by the vagus nerve of the voluntary system.

Fig. VI-C is a sketch indicating the two ganglionic cords of the involuntary system, converging below; running down between them is the spinal cord, terminating near the coccyx. On the sides are indicated the kidneys, topped by the adrenals.